Last week I finished Pearl Buck’s “The Exile,”  a semi-biographical story about her mother, an american missionary in China at the turn of the century.  I confess, for most of the book I thought it to be one of her inferior pieces of work.  The Good Earth is classic, but this novel was a little too much florid prose for my tastes.  However, as I was on the last couple of pages I found the following line (in the author’s voice) intriguing:

 I have hated St. Paul with all my heart and so must all true women hate him, I think because of what he has done in the past to women like Carie, proud free-born women yet damned by their very womanhood.P. 199

 Pearl Buck

The Exile

Even though Apostle Paul is my favorite, I realized that she’s right.  The mis-translation of those verses in the bible probably did do the most damage to woman’s freedom throughout the centuries than any other author.  I don’t know, its food for thought.

